29 Comments

You probably know it already, but "You're Dead To Me" is good.

Also completely not history related at all, Shagged, Married, Annoyed is excellent.

Expand full comment

The Rest Is History. Dominic Sandbrook & Tom Holland is huge fun. Not just because of the content but because they have great Chemistry as a comedy duo too.

Tom's brother James & Al Murray on We Have Ways are OK if you only want 1939-45 and lots of Tanks - James & Al are very into Tanks & tend to do Arnhem about once a month

Expand full comment

Macabre London, interesting and often obscure bits of London history. A recent 2 parter examined the Peasants Revolt.

Expand full comment

I've really been enjoying the British History Podcast. I'm on post-Roman Britain right now.

Expand full comment

I highly recommend Behind the Bastards podcast! It chronicles the lives and bizarre realities behind some of the worst people throughout history, including modern day.

Expand full comment

No doubt you'll already listen to it but I do like Suzannah Lipscomb's Not Just The Tudors.

Expand full comment

The Old Front Line. Paul Reed.

He's a writer, historian TV presenter like yourself. Battlefield tour guide.

Walks the ww1 trench lines talking about the battles but more interestingly the characters that lived, fought and died there.

Expand full comment

Bad Women: The Ripper Retold is great

Expand full comment

Just finished Botanical Curses and Poisons; very good listen. Rereading Eddie Izzard’s rendition of Great Expectations now

Expand full comment

Sorry....have to offer up my own podcast....Bygone Barcrawl. It is a drunk Florida history podcast. It's on both Spotify and Google. We only have like 7 episodes up yet, but this week's is gonna be good.

Expand full comment

Not necessarily history, but sort of related. I'm loving "Lore" and "Myths and Legends". Both are playful and informative.

Expand full comment

Tudors Dynasty, Renaissance English History, Not Just the Tudors, The Soundtrack Show, Behind the Bastards.

Expand full comment

History Extra, Not Just the Tudors, Talking Tudors and Gone Medieval all good and find something everyday to listen too.

Expand full comment

1. Irish History Podcast with Fin Dwyer - I’ve been listening to this one for a while and it never gets old. Episodes range from The Norman Invasion to the War of Independence

2. 99% Invisible - explores “the unnoticed architecture and design that shape our world”

3. The Fantastic History of Food- self explanatory

Enjoy! 😀

Expand full comment

The history of Ancient Greece.. I'm not sure if I'd recommend it or not?? .. I have it on Spotify and I'm not sure who the narrator is but he has written it.

His voice is very dry and bordering on soporific. Maybe a good sleep assistant for the cramped air cabins?

It is extremely informative though and I'm sure some of it will stick... 🙏

I'm on 24 of 109 podcasts.. Eek!

Expand full comment

My podcast Demythifying. Greek mythology in an accesible way. Will move on to greek and roman history too but we're still less than a year in

Expand full comment

Is That Your Cat is my personal favorite.

Expand full comment

I like No Such Thing as a Fish. It’s fine by the writers of QI, and goes into all kinds of interesting random facts!

Expand full comment

Sounds Like a Cult, Noble Blood, The Experiment, and Off Menu are all fun listens, if you’re into that kinda thing.

Expand full comment

Queens of England Podcast has been a favorite. A little dry, but informative.

Expand full comment

Real Dictators is very well done. Love Paul McGann's narration, although it took a bit to adjust since I've seen 'Withnail and I' so many times. "My thumbs have gone weird!"

Expand full comment

Gone medieval by the history hit I think. To be honest you’re probably all over it.

The ancients by history hit is pretty good, again pretty sure you’re all over it

Expand full comment