61 Comments
Mar 9, 2022·edited Mar 10, 2022

Ya know . . .I wonder how many medieval badass women there were that we've never heard of? The wives, mothers, sisters, daughters, lovers that weren't royal, noble or in the right place at the right time. I'm sure, just as today, the strongest women were the ones that persevered in day to day life - through sickness, poverty, ugly husbands and bad ale (not to mention ungrateful offspring!)! I'd like to think THEY are the reason the women of today are as amazing as we are! Just my two cents!

Expand full comment

Olga of Kiev, after she became regent, she was almost always a few step ahead of men who wished to conquer her. She was likely of Viking origin, and despite her viciousness towards her enemies, she is a saint in the Eastern Orthodox Church for converting to Christianity.

Expand full comment

Julian of Norwich

Expand full comment
Mar 8, 2022·edited Mar 8, 2022Liked by Dan Jones

I have two paintings that really speak to me. I’m a fan of the Birth of Venus, or anything Botticelli did with Simonetta Vespucci. She’s perfection. The over saturated pastel color schemes are a favorite.

I’m also fond of Leonardo da Vinci’s Lady with an Ermine of Cecilia Gallerani. The illumination of her face is breathtaking!

Expand full comment

I’ve always been partial to Lady Jane Grey (The 1986 film Lady Jane starring Cary Elwes, Helena Bonham Carter and Patrick Stewart certainly helped!). Her portrait in the National Portrait Gallery shows such a strong young woman! In spite of the fact that she was being manipulated by everyone in her life (her parents, her husband, her in laws, etc.), she always tried to do what she felt was the right thing. I’m always amazed by the fact that she was willing to die as a martyr to her Protestant beliefs (even though I suspect Mary I would have executed her even in the event she agreed to convert to Catholicism)!

Expand full comment

My favourite medieval woman is my 16th great grandmother - Elizabeth Woodville (via her marriage to Sir John Grey.) I love her story, everything she witnessed, loved and lost - in some ways, ahead of her time.

Expand full comment

Imma have to go for Aethelflaed (c.870 - 918) as my favourite woman of history.

With a father who looms as large as Alfred the Great it's kind of astonishing that Aethelflaed has still managed to carve out a legacy which stands completely separate from him. After her husband Aethelred died in 911 she was chosen by the people of Mercia to rule over them, and she did so for almost a decade with huge success. She fought in battles alongside her brother, she built entire cities to defend England from the Vikings, and she donated vast sums of money to establish and maintain monasteries to serve as spiritual and educational beacons in the landscape.

The Lady of the Mercians is a cool title for sure, but I reckon another epithet is needed. Something like Aethelflaed the Badass maybe?

Expand full comment

Katherine Swynford, she went from mistress to wife of John of Gaunt and her descendants started the Tudor dynasty.

On the other side, Cecily Neville was quite a badass.

Expand full comment

My choice is Eleanor of Aquitaine was among the most powerful women of the 12th century. She controlled an extensive estate, became Queen of France and then England, and gave birth to one of England's most famed rulers, Richard the Lionheart. While her biography is now tangled up with myths and legends—even her date and place of birth are difficult to pin down—much of her legacy and influence survives. No other woman had so much influence for so long.

Expand full comment

I'm currently reading Ann Baer's medieval women. And I think my favourite medieval women are the regular ladies in villages raising children in poverty, loosing children due to inhospitable conditions. Working full days caring for animals, farming, cooking and feeding the husbands.

I am pretty obsessed with Eleanor of Aquitaine, Margret Tudor and Marget Beaufort, but Learning about the average lady has really opened my eyes. And this painting as well.....when it comes down to it what has actually changed for women over the ages?

Yes we can vote, play football and wear trousers,but ladies back then were still expected to juggle work and raise the children just the same as now. That painting is proof women have been living under unrealistic expectations for how to look for years. Some huge waves have been made, but some things still remain the same. Which is exactly why international women's day and women's history month are still mega important.

Loving your posts on women through history. Thank you!

Expand full comment

After watching Britain's Bloodiest Crown, I became fascinated with Margaret Beaufort. Her sheer tenacity and determination to secure her son's rightful place is amazing.

Expand full comment

Elisabeth of Hungary (1207-1231), daughter of King Andrew II of Hungary, wife of Ludwig IV of Thuringia, mother of my ancestor Sophie of Hessen, and saint (as of 27 May 1235). Even today, the daughter of a king giving up rank and fortune to nurse the poor, sick and dying, would instantly make the social media Top 40, but in her day Elisabeth’s life-altering compassion was considered proof of insanity. But she wasn’t crazy. She just cared. “We must make people happy” was her credo. Proud to have her blood in my veins and her example inspires me.

Expand full comment

My Favourite Medieval women has to be Eleanor of Aquitaine.

Expand full comment

There are so many to admire! Aethelflaed, Queen of Mercia. Matilda. Elizabeth Woodville. And of course Eleanor of Aquitaine (she was the first medieval woman I learned about and captured my fascination with all things medieval, so she will always be my favorite)! I’m realizing I need to branch out from Britain and learn about some medieval women from other areas!

Expand full comment

Margaret Beaufort is my favorite. Love

Her strength and how she was able to live through so much war and back and forth and able to help put her son on the throne against all odds.

Expand full comment

I adore and have for as long as I can remember The Lady of Shalott by John William Waterhouse. It’s a later painting from 1888 but its totally stunned me every time Ive seen it. And I’ve seen it a lot. I visited it at the Tate Britain as a little treat at the end of every term during my 3 years at Uni. Unfortunately last time I went it had disappeared and when I investigated with staff I was told it had been loaned to a gallery in Australia. Sad times. Still, It’s scale is immense and I love the fact it was painted decades beforehand but the Lady of Shalott herself could have been plucked from the fields at Woodstock festival in the 60s. Not only that but it visually tells the legend as written in the poem by Tennyson and the verse it relates to literally jumps off the canvass.

And at the closing of the day

She loosed the chain, and down she lay;

The broad stream bore her far away,

The Lady of Shalott.[1]

It’s beautiful and tragic and straight out of a Camelot fairytale - what is not to love! ♥️

Expand full comment

Since childhood, I have been fascinated by Brunhilde, (and why my grandfather always named his donkeys Brunhilde). A recent book by Shelley Puhak increased my respect and fascination even more. Good name for the badass donkeys, as well.

Expand full comment

Caterina Sforza, Countess of Forli and Imola. She survived 3 husbands, was friend and foe to Popes, painted by Boticelli and patroness of arts/church building. Called the "Tigress of Forli" for defending her/her son's rights to the town in battle. She also was a botanist/alchemist who wrote a book of recipes for medicines and beauty treatments.

Expand full comment

Hildegard von Bingen...what COULDN'T she do?!

Expand full comment

Botticelli's "Fortitude"... she's badass but beautiful and feminine at the same time. Plus, the intricate detail in the background is just unbelievable.

Expand full comment

The medieval woman who most fascinates me is Eleanor of Aquitaine. Wife of two kings, mother of two others, she was well educated, multi-lingual, and pretty feisty. She inherited one of the richest duchies in France, went on a Crusade, and negotiated trade agreements. One of her sons married a daughter of her ex-husband’s, which shows how borderline incestuous royal marriages have always been. And the only woman capable of portraying her in a movie was Katherine Hepburn.

Expand full comment

There are so many powerful, strong and daring women in our history! I’d start with Boudica though!

Expand full comment

That's a beautiful picture! I can see why you like it so much. My absolute favorite Medieval woman is Margaret Tudor, daughter of Henry VII. Not only was she was a formidable power in Scotland during her life, but she also happens to be my 14th great-grandmother through her second marriage to Archibald Douglas. I am proud to have her blood coursing through my veins. Not terribly thrilled to be related to her brother Henry, however. LOL!

Expand full comment

Janet Douglas, Lady Glamis is my favorite. She is my ancestor and I find her story to be so terribly tragic.

Expand full comment

I’ve always loved this painting. I think the way she fits in, awkward and unnatural gives the impression of suppressed energy as do her veiled eyes. It’s like she’s been captured just before she’s going act, she has a plan - you can almost hear her thinking.

Expand full comment

Contessina de' Bardi, Catherine of Aragon and Elizabeth of York are 3 of my favorites but there are so many that I love or want to learn more about. I look forward to your podcast on this subject.

Expand full comment
Mar 8, 2022·edited Mar 9, 2022

Funny that Beatleclaire just mentioned Elizabeth Woodville because I was going to say the same thing. There is a portrait of her that bears a resemblance. I have a lot of respect for Elizabeth Woodville - she was a survivor and I like that in a woman. Although I have to say that my favorite badass women are Isabella of France and Eleanor of Aquitaine. They are basic (meaning obvious choices) to a degree but their fearlessness is what speaks to me. They saw problems with the men and the world around them and were willing to take tremendous risks to do what they thought was the right thing. They owned the men around them and weren't afraid to be who they were. My hat's off to them. Owning your power in that patriarchal, overly religious world was no mean feat.

Expand full comment

It looks like Elizabeth Woodville.

Expand full comment

Women always worked behind the scenes. They were the backbone of most of the monarchies.

If I had a favorite, it would be our badass Helen of Aquataine. She divorced the King of France, ran off with Henry, kept Aquataine and so on... she was something. Too bad their aren't many books about her

Expand full comment

Constance of Sicily - Frederick II’s mom.

I think she represents the zeitgeist of power/powerlessness/ importance that woman had in medieval Europe.

She was important, but not as important as her son; led an interesting life, but only because of who she married; was intelligent, but only had agency through the men.

I just like her general geographical location too. I’d take medieval Sicily over medieval Northern Europe any day. Bring on the Arab ice cream, ‘modern’ medical understanding, and beaches, baby.

Expand full comment

I have never been big into painted art but I do appreciate it. So I dont have a fav painting. I do like portraits from around medieval era and plan to have a few copies in my future library room. I really like tapestries tho. Like the Lady and The Unicorn. There are a few hanging in the Biltmore Mansion and I just love them. So much work and no heavy machinary.

Expand full comment

Etheldreda, foundress of Ely, Cathedral

Expand full comment

My favorite medieval woman is Joan of Arc, but not for her religious fervor. I believe that is what allowed her to convince the ruling class to give her a chance and it is why she pursued the path she did, but my admiration for her lies outside of her faith.

An illiterate, peasant, teenage, girl believed so strongly in herself and her abilities, despite the fact she was among the most disadvantaged and vulnerable groups of society at the time.

Yet she spoke up and she was unafraid, even though that was a dangerous thing to do. She knew the risks and proceeded anyway. Her confidence and abilities got her through the "trials" she faced next, which through all odds she passed.

Then they let her fight, but more, they let her lead the French army and still she displayed utter confidence, and a natural talent for battle. And she won - over and over again. Where elite class, adult male generals failed, with years of training, education of battle tactics, armor that actually fits that they are strong enough to wear, and soldiers who respect them, she succeeded. Her, the lowly girl who couldn't be more different than they were, won where they had lost.

Though her story is epic and her fate is tragic, she faced her end the same as she faced the rest of her challenges - head on, and with complete confidence in who she was, what she had done, and that she was on the right side of history. In other words, she never gave a damn what anyone else thought about her or what she could do, because she knew it was right and that was enough for her.

And look where she is today, a legend and an inspiration to anyone who feels like they have no chance to succeed. If she can do it in her society in her time, what's stopping me from chasing my dreams? From trying something new? From speaking out? Gathering motivation from Joan, the answer is absolutely nothing stands in my way but me. And that's why she's my favorite.

Expand full comment

Wow, I would have never looked at that image in the way that you have looked at it. To me all women from the medieval period are Bad/Kick Ass. The shit that they had to put up with from the men. Amazing. Firstly for women to go through childbirth (numerous times) and survive is astonishing.

I say Huzzah to women!

Expand full comment

Empress Matilda, her escape from Oxford castle is a damn fine exploit.

Expand full comment

I'm repeating myself here (sorry about that), but I think Phillipa of Lancaster, daughter of John of Gaunt and married to Portuguese King John I (D. João I Mestre de Avis for us here in Portugal) was an extraordinary woman, quite ahead of her time. She was an extremely cultured women, a patron, a pacifier and a diplomat. Her marriage to King John I cemented the Windsor Treaty, the most ancient alliance between two countries that is upholded until today. All their sons were brilliant people, including King Duarte (Edward), a great statesman of his time and a poet, and Prince Henrique (Henry), the guy who payed for and started the age of the Portuguese Discoveries.

Expand full comment

Fabulous painting and I liked your observations about it. I suppose that despite the passage of time, humans are essentially the same. I would have to say that I admire Eleanor of Aquitaine's grit. She was so incredibly strong and held her own in a "man's world". As for a favourite image, it's different depending on the day. My mind often wanders back to Van Gogh's Starry Night. Cliche, I know, but it makes me feel like I'm dancing in light. It reminds me of the immensity of the universe and helps me remember that the world doesn't revolve around selfish old me. I even have a shower curtain with Star Trek's Enterprise flying through space in the style of the painting!

Expand full comment

Marguerite de Carrouges, Eleanor of Aquitaine (of course), and Melisande of Jerusalem.

Expand full comment
Mar 9, 2022·edited Mar 9, 2022

Bartolomé Esteban Murillo's ‘Two Women at a Window’ ( aka ‘Girl and Her Duenna’) is one my favorite paintings. I see a sense of fun and happiness on their faces with a playful connection to something or someone outside. I love how the both of them seem to radiate their own unique beauty and wistful charm. Murillo was best known for his religious works, but he also produced a number of paintings that portrayed the everyday lives of flower girls, street urchins, and beggars.

Expand full comment

My favorite painting is Yeames’ painting of Amy Robsart’s death. It’s at the Tate, but for some unknown reason, not on display (WHY?). Amy Robsart was such a fascinating figure, and her death shrouded in mystery. Dan, what’s your take on her death? Murder? Suicide? Accident? At any rate, I love this painting.

Expand full comment

Standing up for my Lady Wulfruna! There's not much Wolverhampton can be proud of! But her statue outside the church has always made me stop and think. To be a powerful landowner during her time must have been quite something as a woman. We teach a lesson on her for the benefit of the students who now live in her town. The girls enjoy knowing that a powerful woman once ruled over where they now sit.

Expand full comment

Must be Uta von Ballenstedt/ Naumburg for me, 13th century statue in the Minster of Naumburg, Germany. It is said, Disney based his Queen in the 1937 movie snow white on her...

Expand full comment
Mar 9, 2022·edited Mar 9, 2022

Gwenllian ferch Gruffydd , a princess of wales. She led a defence against the Norman's in 1136 in Kidwelly. She got captured and beheaded but a brave woman non the less.

Expand full comment

Your writing is so delightful. She is eye candy as well as totally unrealistically beautiful I admire Eleanor of A but she behaved badly with her sons and her ex king Louis Vii Henry should have been more including of her in his beckett period also.

Expand full comment

I'm going with Emma, wife of Cnut the Great. I would love to have been a fly on the wall at that house.

Expand full comment

My choice is Eleanor of Aquitaine who was among the most powerful women of the 12th century. She controlled an extensive estate, became Queen of France and then England, and gave birth to one of England's most famed rulers, Richard the Lionheart. While her biography is now tangled up with myths and legends—even her date and place of birth are difficult to pin down—much of her legacy and influence survives.I cannot name another woman who’s influence over so many courts for so long, deserves that title more.

Expand full comment

Phenomenal painting

Elizabeth I is my heroine but there is so much to admire about all women who had to exercise their power and control in very subtle and non threatening ways through the ages.

I’m a bit out of the period here, but this very subject is a key point in The Guilded Age mini series currently being shown. How women had to subvert themselves and be powerful in quite round about social ways. Yet they wielded immense control in daily life.

I’m reminded of that scene in Legends when a goblin who has just killed the male unicorn tells Darkness that he didn’t chase the female because she has no power!

“She has the power of Creation” thunders Darkness

Viva Le femme !

Expand full comment
Mar 8, 2022·edited Mar 8, 2022

I don't think I can really decide on one favorite woman in history. There are far too many extraordinary women, especially in the Middle Ages, whose story I'm interested in. But as an Austrian I think Margaret of Austria, daughter of Maximilian I., with her role as regent to the Netherlands has a really interesting and fascinating story. Though I know far too less about her than I should.

Expand full comment

Portrait of a Young Girl by Petrus Christus gives the same vibes. I love Adam de Coster’s “A young woman holding a distaff”

Expand full comment

Favourite image... I suppose the effergy of Eleanor of Aquatain. She's holding a book showing intelligence and power, her effergy is higher than her husband and son, both Kings yet she's their superior. Favourite medieval woman.... I can't pick!!!

Expand full comment